SAMMY LIF


Nike and A-1 Steak Sauce
January 12, 2009, 5:45 am
Filed under: Advertisements | Tags: ,

Nike Ad
found in CMYK Magazine, whose tagline is “inspiring visual communication”
via feministing, via sociological images

A1 Steak Sauce
“This is no time for conversation…Yeah, it’s that important”
via feministing, via The Bilerico Project

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It continually shocks me that companies are even allowed to use homophobia to promote products. I feel you on only seeing the gender roles/sexism in advertising, because that’s basically all I ever see anymore, but I think that even if I wasn’t this sensitive to implications from advertisements I’d still feel shocked if I ever came across that first ad in a magazine or something. It’s disgusting! It perfectly reiterates the compulsory/compulsive heterosexuality that C.J. Pascoe describes in “Dude, You’re a Fag,” which I recommend to anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

Even aside from the obvious disapproval of boys participating in “traditionally feminine” (the notion alone makes me nauseous) activities that would, to the uneducated, imply homosexuality (which in their minds is wrong), the “Raise a champ” line in the corner implies that those feminine activities do not “breed” success. Leave the unsuccessful, unmentionable activities for women; wear Nike and play soccer to become a champ, a man! It’s all connected to gender roles, even homophobia.

It just makes me so angry.

Comment by Lyndsay

The first one pretty much says that having a son who does ballet is worse than having a son involved in drug dealing or rape or any other criminal offense. Yep, I guess they hit the nail on the head with this one.

Comment by John




Leave a Reply

