SAMMY LIF


Scalping sexism…?
March 12, 2009, 10:31 pm
Filed under: Commentary

Last night i went to the city, in the hopes of scalping some tickets to see Syracuse men’s bball team tackle the Pirates from Seton Hall.

Now, I obviously don’t consider myself any less of a sports fan for being a girl. I consider myself a critical sports fan, due to being a conscious person (ok, and a feminist). But I love Syracuse basketball. And I wasn’t expected to be shut down by scalpers on account of being female.

OK, I look young, and I wasn’t completely decked out in SU apparel, nor was I wearing anything that would lead anyone to believe I have money. But I had $40 in my wallet and I wanted to see some basketball! One guy was walking by me, saying “selling tickets, selling tickets…” When I asked him “you’re selling?” he looked back at me, and gave me a dismissive hand wave, as if to say “I don’t want your business.”

I don’t know why this happened, I don’t know if it would’ve gone any differently if I had a penis, ok. And I concede that I didn’t have a ton of money and wasn’t planning in spending a lot, alright. But it sure raises some questions, doesn’t it? Like the lack of female scalpers (the scalpers aren’t sports fans, so that doesn’t explain it. They’re more like businessmen – maybe that does). I dno. That one exchange really got to me – probably because I don’t think I get treated differently for being a lady all that often. And I kept thinking about it – all the way to the ESPNzone to watch the game on tv.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

