SAMMY LIF


Complaining!
March 26, 2009, 6:53 pm
Filed under: Commentary

Today in graphics we were checking out some mag layouts for our next project, and my professor asked us what we think of this one:

picture-11
(don’t know where it’s from, found it via my graphics blog)

I was sitting in the front row, and I timidly said “I’m tired…..of seeing women’s mouths covered in ads,” you know, referring to the metaphorical silencing of women, and how it lends it self to certain violence and ideas about how women want to be treated. And my professor seemed taken aback for a fraction of a second, and then replied, innocently, with “well, you know, maybe she likes it, maybe she’s into that kind of thing.”

OK. That bothers me. Because…well, that ad makes it really easy to have that response. Talk about a cycle of oppression, or something.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

