SAMMY LIF


Damn, girl
November 23, 2009, 6:43 am
Filed under: Commentary | Tags:

The past few days, I have found myself saying “Damn, girl!” randomly, not entirely sure what made me say it. I knew it was from a song, but couldn’t figure out why I knew it or what it was.

Last night I was at party, and I found it:

The song is damn catchy, and it’s super fun to dance to, but the lyrics are sickening (why is this such a trend in the top-40?):

I’m tryna find the words to describe this girl without being disrespectful

Dam you’se a sexy bitch – Damn, girl!

I know I shouldn’t be surprised, and I’m not. It is Akon, after all. But he’s actively trying NOT to be disrespectful! But all this comes down is being “Nothing you can compare to your neighborhood whore”

Sigh.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you should see the actual video for the unedited version!! it’s crazy.
i do like the song though, i just try to ignore the lyrics haha.

Comment by Shannon W

People like this song because of the beat and the melody, not the lyrics. Stop criticizing modern media so much if the majority of the population enjoys it. I hate French people, and David Guetta is French, but I still buy his music and enjoy it. Realize that not everything has an anti-feminist vibe and maybe someone created it just because they thought it was fun; in the meantime, all you do is piss people off. DAMN GIRL!!!!

Comment by Akon

“akon”
we are saying we like the song! It is extremely catchy. But if someone called me a bitch (even a sexy one) I would be sad. I know akon is not personally calling me a bitch, but he is encouraging people to call others this (especially younger listeners, who are so impressionable and might get the idea that calling someone a “sexy bitch” is not disrespectful).
I really do like this song though! But for the reasons you mentioned, the beat and the meoldy, not the lyrics. However you have to understand that there are people out there who are going to hear the lyrics and think, “hey! That’s awesome. I’m going to go ‘compliment’ a girl by calling her a bitch, but not like the neighborhood whore.” That’s an exaggeration, but I think we can both see the problem here.

Comment by shannon




Leave a Reply

